Lamigo Sweep Brothers, Closer Sets League Record

Chinatrust Brothers (23-37) at Lamigo Monkeys (34-25)

Game 1
Chinatrust Brothers 2 at Lamigo Monkeys 7 Taoyuan International Baseball Stadium  
Saturday, October 7, 2017

WP:  No. 74 Zeke Spruill (15-4, 2.56 ERA)
LP:   No. 33 Wang Tse-Chun (0-1, 7.56 ERA)
MVP: Monkeys SP No. 74 Zeke Spruill (5.2 IP, 7H, 2R, 9SO, 1BB)

Game 2
Chinatrust Brothers 1 at Lamigo Monkeys 3 Taoyuan International Baseball Stadium  
Sunday, October 8, 2017

WP:  No. 33 Darin Downs (10-3, 3.49 ERA)
LP:   No. 55 Tsai I-Min (0-2, 18.00 ERA)
S: Lamigo No. 20 Chen Yu-Hsun (36)
MVP: Monkeys 1B No. 85 Chu Yu-Hsien (2-3, R, 3 RBI, game-winning 3-run homerun)

Series Notes:

  • Lamigo's import starter, Zeke Spruill pitched a stellar outing, striking out nine batters over 5.2 innings. His brilliant performance won him the MVP trophy. Zeke celebrated with his parents, who came to watch him pitch in Taiwan for the first time. His parents even danced with the Lamigirls, experiencing the unique Asian baseball atmosphere.
  • Brothers' rookie starter, Wang Tse-Chun, on the other hand lasted only three innings, allowing four earned runs on five hits. He struck out two and walked one batter over three innings.
  • Monkeys 1B Chu Yu-Hsien homered to left field in his first at-bat, bringing his season total to 27. Lamigo scored three runs on the dinger which was enough for the home team to secure the victory over the last place Brothers.
  • Lamigo's closer Chen Yu-Hsun notched his record-breaking 36th save in the top of the ninth. The record was previously held by Lamigo's foreign pitcher, Miguel Mejia's 35 saves in 2014 season. Chen later dedicated this accomplishment to his late grandma who past away during this season.
  • Lamigo finished their homestand of the regular season after completing these two games. The yearly attendance reached 455,776. The average attendance per game is at 7,596. The Lamigo organization enjoyed a slight increase of 0.08% growth compared to last season.
  • Lamigo's 42 wins in Taoyuan Baseball Stadium broke the league-record of most home wins in a single season. The previous record was the 2015 Uni Lions, who won at home 41 times.
  • With Darin Downs notching his 10th win of the season, Lamigo, for the second time of their team history, has a trio of starters with at least 10 wins.