Lamigo Monkeys 4 Chinatrust Brothers 2

Lamigo Monkeys (4-1) at Chinatrust Brothers (1-4)
Thursday, November 2, 2017
Taichung Intercontinental Baseball Stadium

WP:  No. 32 Wang I-Cheng (1-0, 1.50 ERA)
LP:   No. 5 Bryan Woodall (1-1, 4.15 ERA)
S: No. 20 Chen Yu-Hsun (1)
MVP: Monkeys SP No. 32 Wang I-Cheng (6 IP, 3 H, 1 ER, 1 BB, 6 K)

Home Runs:
Monkeys: Lin Hung-Yu (1)
Brothers: Chang Chih-Hao (2, 3)

Game Notes:

  • THE MONKEYS WIN! THE MONKEYS WIN! THE MONKEYS WIN!!! With a 4-2 win over the Chinatrust Brothers in Game 4 of the Taiwan Series, the Lamigo Monkeys have been crowned 2017 CPBL Champions. It is the fifth title in team history and their fourth in the last six years. For the Chinatrust Brothers, it is their fourth consecutive loss in the Taiwan Series and their third time to lose to the Monkeys in the last four years. The Brothers last title was in 2010.
  • After two blowout victories in games 2 and 3, it was Monkeys SP and game MVP Wang I-Cheng that set the tone for the clincher. Wang was superb, allowing only three hits, one earned run (solo shot by Brothers CF Chang Chih-Hao), one walk, and six strikeouts. He would retire the side in order in three of those six innings (including whiffing all three batters faced in the third inning) and would face only four men over the minimum.
  • The game would be turned over to the formidable Monkeys bullpen in the seventh inning and they did not disappoint. Chu Chun-Hsiang would allow a solo home run to Brothers CF Chang Chih-Hao (his second of the game) in the seventh but Wang Yueh-Lin and closer Chen Yu-Hsun would shut the door and turn off the lights, icing the eighth and ninth innings. After giving up two runs in Game 1 of the series, the Monkeys bullpen shut down the Brothers offense, giving up only one run in seven innings of relief in the final three games.
  • Brothers SP Bryan Woodall had the unenviable task of getting this series back to Taoyuan but came up short in a valiant effort. Monkeys DH Lin Hung-Yu would tee off for a solo bomb to left field in the second inning, followed by two consecutive singles, then a sac-fly by SS Lin Cheng-Fei, giving the Monkeys an early 2-0 lead. Woodall would cruise along until causing his own trouble in the sixth by walking the first two Monkey hitters. A Chen Chun-Hsiu single and a Lin Cheng-Fei double later (Taiwan Series record 10 RBI in a four-game set), the Brothers would find themselves in a 4-1 hole. Woodall would finish up the inning and end his terrific season with a final line of six innings, six hits, four earned runs, two walks, and seven strikeouts in taking the loss.
  • After some crooked offensive numbers the previous two games, this game felt a lot closer with the Monkeys only scoring four runs. The offensive charge was led by 1B Chen Chun-Hsiu who hit a ridiculous .714 with eight runs scored and four RBI in the series. The former Cleveland Indians farmhand collected a new car en route to winning Taiwan Series MVP. Chen was a perfect three-for-three in this game after going a perfect four-for-four in Game 3, thereby setting a CPBL Taiwan Series record with seven consecutive hits (and two walks).
  • A laundry list of other records were set by the Lamigo offense in the series (for four games played): most doubles (16), highest team batting average (.359), most hits (55), most total bases (77), most extra-base hits (18), and most runs scored (42). In a record-setting regular season (78 wins), it only makes sense that they demolish a few more records in the Taiwan Series.
  • The lone bright spot for the Brothers offense was veteran CF Chang Chih-Hao, who clubbed his second and third homer of the series. Chang would finish the four games hitting .429 with six runs scored and seven RBI.
  • The youth and inexperience of the Brothers roster finally caught up with them. Snyder emptied the bench in the final three games giving the young guys valuable experience for the future. All things considered, the Brothers can hold their heads high as they fought and played hard until the very end.
  • But the 2017 CPBL season belongs solely to the Lamigo Monkeys. Mark it down folks, you have just witnessed the greatest season in the CPBL’s 28 years of existence. Congratulations to the Lamigo Monkeys on a season for the history books.
  • On behalf of the CPBL English website, I would like to thank all of you for your continued support. See you next year! 謝謝!

Attendance: 10,282
Game time: 3:29